Super Billiards Expo Event Roundup

Super Billiards Expo Event Roundup
Artistic Pool Masters Championship
The Super Billiards Expo concluded March 16 just after 6 p.m., when the final event, the Artistic Pool Masters Championship, crowned a new champion. Mark Dimick bested Eric Yow in the finals with the title coming down to the final shot. Dimick successfully completed it on his first attempt, and although Yow could have taken the event on his first attempt or tied on his second, he failed to execute the shot each time, making Dimick the new champion.
Super Billiards Expo image gallery (/gallery2/v/Pool+Tournaments/super-billiards-expo-2008/)
Across the arena, the pro-am was grinding its way through to also crown a new champion. The semifinals had Matt Clatterbuck eliminate Tyler Edey and Ronnie Wiseman knock out Ryan McCreesh. Then, in the finals, Clatterbuck all but walked away with the event, taking Wiseman to school 11-4.
By Rick Davis, InsidePOOL Staff
Amateur Womens Players Championship
Bo Ra Jeung captured the first championship title that was awarded on Sunday at the Super Billiards Expo. Zinnie Panju reached the finals this year to play Bo Ra Jeung in a field 128 ladies. Panju’s previous two trips yielded a win and a runner-up title. The first two sets were split with lopsided scores of 4-0. In the decisive set, Panju missed a tricky 2-9 combination and Jeung pocketed the difficult deuce and finished the match to win the division.
1st Bo Ra Jeung
2nd Zinnie Panju
3rd Renee Havel
Malea Haacke
Amateur Juniors Players Championship 14 Under
Tyler Adolini captured the 14 and under juniors title over Jackson Jeffreys with a speedy run-out after the final break. Cory Creamer and Briana Miller tied for third in the original field of 58 junior competitors.
1st Tyler Adolini
2nd Jackson Jeffreys
3rd Cory Creamer
Briana Miller
Amateur Juniors Players Championship 18 Under
Richard Barney captured his third consecutive Super Billiard Expo trophy, besting Adam Tanner, who won last year’s 14 and under division. Barney won the 14 and under two years ago and repeated this year as the 18 and under champion in the field of 70.
1st Richard Barney
2nd Adam Tanner
3rd Trey
Matt Daspin
Amateur Open Players Championship
The amateur open finals featured Chris Futrell topping Tom D’Alfonso in a three set showdown. Futrell, at age 17, is the youngest amateur open champion in Super Billiards Expo history. He voluntarily forfeited his 18 and under juniors match because of schedule conflicts.
1st Chris Futrell
2nd Tom D’Alfonso
3rd Shayne Winter
Bucky Souvanthong
Amateur Seniors Players Championship
The senior’s event saw Dennis Bolella repeat as runner-up to Tony Rodriguez. Rodriguez attributed his finals appearance to steady defensive play throughout the tournament.
1st Tony Rodriguez
2nd Dennis Bolella
3rd Nat
Carmen Lombardo
By Mike Fieldhammer, InsidePool Staff


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *